ONLINE RESOURCES

WILL AND TRUST INFORMATION

 

“A will is a written document expressing a deceased person's wishes, from naming guardians of minor children to bequeathing objects and cash assets to friends, relatives, or charities. A will becomes active only after one's death. A trust is active the day you create it, and a grantor may list the distribution of assets before their death in it, unlike a will. There are irrevocable trusts, often created for tax purposes, which cannot be altered after their creation, and living trusts, which can be changed by the grantor.”

 

Read more here https://www.investopedia.com/articles/personal-finance/051315/will-vs-trust-difference-between-two.asp

CalPDF A fiduciary training organization for California. http://cal-lpf.com

 

Professional Fiduciary Association of California Education, Advocacy and Advancement for Professional Fiduciaries: https://pfac-pro.org/about/mission-purpose/

 

HOSPICES

 

Zen Caregiving Project https://zencaregiving.org/

 

International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care https://hospicecare.com/home

 

Children’s Hospice International https://www.chionline.org/about-chi

 

ehospice / Palliative News, Views and Inspiration from Around the World https://ehospice.com/international

 

Medicare.gov / Find a Hospice Agency https://www.medicare.gov/hospiceCompare

 

 

BEREAVEMENT

 

Weathering Grief http://www.weatheringgrief.com

 

Dyalogues https://www.dyalogues.com/resources

Healing Circles Global https://healingcirclesglobal.org/

Refuge In Grief https://refugeingrief.com/

DISPOSITION OF REMAINS & ALTERNATIVES

Recompose (Alternative to cremation and traditional burial) https://recompose.life/

Better Place Forests (Alternative to traditional burial) https://www.betterplaceforests.com/

Green Burial greenburialcounsel.org

US Urns Online (Final Disposition Options) https://www.usurnsonline.com/cremation/final-disposition-options-cremation-burial-and-more/

Sacred Crossings Funeral Home (Green Burial Alternatives / Los Angeles https://sacredcrossingsfuneralhome.com/

Funeral Consumer's Alliance funerals.org

 

National Home Funeral Alliance homefuneralalliance.org

ADDITIONAL SPECIALTY WEBSITES

Informed Final Choices/Crestone End of Life Project A variety of end of life and bereavement workshops supporting communities, individuals and organizations across the country: informedfinalchoices.org

The Living/Dying Project Spiritual support for the dying, caregivers, and families: https://www.livingdying.org/about-us/

 

Pleural Mesothelioma Center - Giving Mesothelioma Cancer Patients Hope  https://www.pleuralmesothelioma.com/cancer/prognosis/

Alzheimer Support A free service for families who have loved ones with Alzheimer’s disease or dementia. A search tool with a nationwide database of Alzheimer’s care facilities is provided, along with locations for licensed, properly equipped care homes and communities. https://www.alzheimersupport.com/

 

INFORMATION ABOUT ADVANCED HEATLH CARE DIRECTIVES

Peacefully Prepared (Spiritual Care Directive Info) https://peacefully-prepared.com/

Prepare for Your Care https://prepareforyourcare.org/welcome

Family Caregiver Alliance https://www.caregiver.org/

 

TOOLS TO OPEN THE CONVERSATION

 

The Death Deck https://thedeathdeck.com

 

Go Wish Cards / Coda Alliance https://codaalliance.org/go-wish/#order-go-wish

 

Hospice Foundation of America https://hospicefoundation.org/End-of-Life-Support-and-Resources

The Conversation Project www.theconversationproject.org

Deathwise http://deathwise.wpengine.com

 

Death Over Dinner www.deathoverdinner.org

 

The Death Café http://deathcafe.com

 

Ever Plans everplans.com (assistance with personal organization)

The Order of the Good Death founded by Caitlin Doughty, an American mortician, author, blogger, and YouTube personality known for advocating death acceptance and the reform of Western funeral industry practices. She is the creator of the web series "Ask a Mortician", founder of The Order of the Good Death, and author of the bestselling books Smoke Gets in Your Eyes & Other Lessons from the Crematory, published in 2014 by W.W. Norton and Company, From Here to Eternity and Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs? [All three books highly recommended by TLC Founder & Director, Julie Rogers] orderofthegooddeath.com